A record opening day for Marlborough’s iconic Merchant’s House
A record 634 visitors poured in Marlborough’s historic The Merchant’s House when it opened its doors, free of charge, for an open day.
Most visitors were from the Marlborough area, but many came from other parts of Wiltshire and the South West to see the property, rebuilt by silk merchant Thomas Bayly after the Greater Fire of Marlborough, in 1653, and now being restored by a charitable trust.
And there were a dozen or more too from across the Channel together with some 87 children who were able to tour the iconic house.
The Merchant's House was officially opened by Councillor Alexander Kirk-Wilson, Marlborough’s new mayor.
Pictured with him below is the mayor flanked by the Town Beadle and the Officers of Dignity, carrying the 17th century maces, Sir John Sykes, chairman of the Merchant’s House trustees, and Susan Pearson, modelling a beautiful 17th century costume researched and hand-made by Angela Munns and Margaret Matthews, on show for the first time.
“The Trust would like to thank the many volunteers and crafts-people who helped to make the open day a success,” a spokesman told Marlborough News Online.