Sports personalities line up for awards

Written by Peter Davison on .

Wiltshire and Swindon Sports Awards 2011 winnersWiltshire and Swindon Sports Awards 2011 winnersWiltshire's sporting heroes, both on the field and behind the scenes, will be in the spotlight this month at the third Wiltshire and Swindon Sports Awards on September 20.

This year more than 120 nominations were put forward for the awards which recognise the exceptional work and achievements of athletes, sports clubs, volunteers and coaches from across Wiltshire and Swindon.

The top three nominations from each category have been invited to the awards event at the Steam Museum in Swindon.

The ceremony will be hosted by former England rugby captain, Phil de Glanville and will also be attended by Shelley Rudman, 2006 skeleton bob olympic silver medallist and 2012 World Cup Champion.

Following the success of last year’s awards, the 2012 Wiltshire and Swindon Sports Awards will be jointly hosted by Wiltshire Council, Wiltshire Health Improvement Partnership, NHS Wiltshire, Wiltshire and Swindon Activity and Sports Partnership, Swindon Borough Council, NHS Swindon, and supported by Liquid Media and Sports Coach UK.

Stuart Wheeler, Wiltshire Council's cabinet member for leisure, said: "These awards recognise the amazing achievements of the county's athletes but also the incredible support and hard work that goes on behind the scenes from clubs, volunteers and coaches.

“In this Olympic year when we see so many successful gold medallists paying tribute to their support team it is fitting that our awards ceremony recognises all those involved in making sports a success in our county.”

Cllr Keith Williams, Swindon Borough Council’s cabinet member for leisure, said: “We have enjoyed a wonderful summer of sport and our sports awards are a great opportunity to showcase the outstanding work going on at grassroots level in Swindon and Wiltshire. I would like to congratulate all our shortlisted sporting heroes for all their achievements and wish them luck for the awards themselves.”

The nominees are:

Sports personality of the year

Gemma Bishop

Jemima Duxberry

Jade Faulkner

Young sports personality of the year

Elliot Burbidge

Elliot Herrod-Taylor

Will Seward

Sports Personality of the year – athlete with a disability

Craig Harris

Louise Hunt

Aaron Moores

Roger Byrne unsung hero of the year

John Bedrook

Pat Harris

Terry McCosh

Malcolm Miles

Sean Price

Geoffrey Russell

Ken Stimpson

John Stowe

Ian Wheeler

Young volunteer of the year

Megan Tidy

Emma Hill

Hayley Lawrence

Official of the year

Maria Bailey

Ray Bell

Richard Moorehouse

Sports club/team of the year

Chippenham Rugby Club

Devizes Canoe Club

Raychem Netball Club

Swindon Dolphins Amateur Swimming Club

Most inclusive club of the year

Swindon Croquet Club

Swindon Leopards Football Club

Trowbridge Amateur Swimming Club

Most innovative club of the year

City of Salisbury Athletics and Running Club

Pewsey 50 Badminton Club

Sarum Sisters

Participation coach of the year

Kim Bedry

Paul Lavis

Ruth Powell

High performance coach of the year

Colin Baross

Jason Parsons

Simon Woodhouse

Inclusion coach of the year

John Page

Sue Tucke 

Young coach of the year

Alex Bedford

Amy Cowley

Edward Dobson